I See You Have a Knee. Do You Jerk it? Part 1 of 2

Where do I begin? This whole Supreme Court decision has had some terrifying results. I’m not talking about finally granting the LGBT community the right to marry. The kneejerk reaction to this monumental decision is quite baffling to me. Aren’t we all entitled to civil rights or are we going to pretend that 1964 never mattered? Let me introduce you to one of the many discussions on Facebook. I participated in this one, and my comments are the ones with the rainbow avatar. I’ve blocked out the identities of the ones involved for, I hope, obvious reasons. I even shared this conversation with my son. At his 21 years, he’s got more wisdom and understanding. It’s all I can hope for with the generation growing up. Intolerance still is deep-seeded in a country ‘known’ for it’s stance on freedom. It’s a bit hypocritical when we try and suppress others.

Rtard #1

Ah ….. so it begins.

Marriage as a religious thing is an opinion and not fact. This article was published in 2014 but still rings true. Sorry, folks, I’m going to have a lot of links throughout. PS: The early Christians passage is particularly interesting. The Council of Trent didn’t make marriage a sacrament until 1547–fifteen hundred years after Jesus’s water to wine bit in Cana. Which is kind of amusing since some modern day Catholic institutes point to that particular part of Jesus’s life to to uphold the modern Christian version of marriage. Amazing how things can get twisted for a purpose. Oh and a ban on polygamy in the Catholic church didn’t happen until the 18th century or haven’t you read your bible closely lately on how many wives the men within had? Chew on that for a bit.

Sooo … what was marriage before then? Basically, the early stages of marriage were for political reasons and had little to do with love. Alliances, peace treaties–you name it. Wife not a baby making machine and like plowing a barren desert? Toss her to the side and get another model! Or you could test drive one of your many slaves. Right, Abraham?

Fun Fact: Marriages in the West were originally contracts between the families of two partners, with the Catholic Church and the state staying out of it. In 1215, the Catholic Church decreed that partners had to publicly post banns, or notices of an impending marriage in a local parish, to cut down on the frequency of invalid marriages (the Church eliminated that requirement in the 1980s). Still, until the 1500s, the Church accepted a couple’s word that they had exchanged marriage vows, with no witnesses or corroborating evidence needed. ((SOURCE: History of Marriage: 13 Surprising Facts))

That we can marry who we want should be a milestone, right? Oh we are a fickle bunch when it comes to our opinions. Now back to the conversation I mentioned previously.

Rtard #2

So marriage should be out of the government’s hands–though it’s been a political standpoint long before the church dipped its hands in the pool. This goes along the lines of what I was saying before how the church will bend things to their own purpose, much like those who clutch the bible tight want to purge the passages that don’t gel with their current lifestyle. Old testament exists and you can’t just sweep it under the same cloth rug. Like wives being property, for one (Exodus 20:17). Or how about being raped and then sold to your rapist (Deuteronomy 22:28-29)? I suggest looking up these lovely passages too: Exodus 21:7, 1 Kings 11:3, Deuteronomy 22:20-21, Number 31:17-18, Leviticus 15:19-31, Leviticus 12:1-8, Numbers 30:1-16, Corinthians 14:34, Colossians 3:18, Ephesians 5:22-24, 1 Timothy 2:11-15, Corinthians 11:2-10, Revelation 14:3-4. Those just scratch the surface. Women have no authority. FYI, Pope Benedict VIII banned marriage not so priests could get closer to God but so the wives and children couldn’t get property/money when the priest died. Gasp! It was all about money! Shocker! Celibacy is unnatural, not LGBT marriage.

I will continue this on Wednesday as long posts are something I try not to do. See you then!

 

 

3 responses

  1. I read something that said when the matrimony sacrament was made it was based off a former Roman Law. That’s right. . . a law from a government. What’s that mean? The Church is the one sticking its nose where it doesn’t belong and has been all throughout history. Plus, as far as I understand, when Reformation happened it went back to being a law as well and not just a sacrament. Something of that nature? I just skimmed, and I was tired, but I’ll probably look more later cause I’m sure we’ll continue to see more of this nonsense for awhile.

    I look forward to reading your next post!

    • While I haven’t unfriended anyone over this, I have unfollowed them so that their misinformed opinions don’t show up in my feed. A lot of people do not know the history of the Christian religion and I’ve got a UMC preacher I’ve known for years that tell people to stop using selected Bible passages to push their own agenda.

      • I have unfriended people, but only when lines got crossed. Once had someone call me the Devil cause I spoke out against religious teachings(like you’d get at church, religious private schools) in public schools, and support separation of church and state. Had known the person since I was a child, and distantly were actually family too, so yeah. . . sometimes it gets out of hand. But I do agree that I see a lot of people using select passages or their (inaccurate) version of history to back their hate/agenda.

        Sorry I didn’t respond sooner. Been a rough go lately with health stuff. Can’t wait to give part 2 a read.

Comments are closed.