Chapter Breakdown: Chapter Twenty-Two #50shades

Before reading this post, I suggest you read my disclaimer of sorts first.

Please … save …. me ……

Okay, deep breaths.

First, I’m all for making your world when a writer creates their manuscript. However, there are limits. For example, if you’re using a place that actually exists you can’t make shit up! There is no such thing as a first class lounge at Seattle’s Airport.

I repeat: There is NONE. There are clubs that you can pay to go into–some airports have them. For example, I partook in one before my flight back from Jamaica. They cost up to $50 dollars to get in so not overly expensive but considering the time to get your luggage sorted and going through TSA, the time could be brief. Just like what is openly listed on Seattle’s website for their airport, this one had a lounge where you could get drinks (most free) and something to eat and a relaxing environment with free wifi. That’s it. No mani-pedi or massages. Yeah, I flew into Seattle too for a cruise sooo…..

Maybe I’m a stickler for details and research because I write historical. Or maybe it’s because I make a point that if I use something that isn’t generic in nature, I get it down. It goes back to the Pike Market district apartment that are expensive.

Again the emails encompass this painful chapter. Her teasing him about having a man massage her in this very fictitious first class lounge. Oh how the emails fly about twitching palms and tee-hee, kidding, he was a gay guy. Even her sneaking out her lame Blackberry to continue her emailing after the laptop is stowed. Which, by the way, is stowed because it’s a large object and necessary on taking off. Whatevs.

Bathroom

Something I came across in the underground city in Seattle. I’ve altered the photo I took. It fits my feelings right now.

Also … how’d she pack a week’s worth of clothes plus a laptop in a rucksack? For those that are more American, a rucksack is like a backpack.

Of course with dear old mum she has to say Christian has had a grim upbringing. Oh yes. Up to the age of FOUR is was horrid but, again, he wasn’t tossed around in foster care. He was adopted almost immediately. Mel-o-dramatic much?

And her mother and the fourth marriage. Oh yes she knows about men–and the wrong things since she can’t find one that works. The only experience she can draw from is bad choices. Ana’s twenty-one and her mother is on her FOURTH marriage. Do the math on that one.

*cries*

I’m sorry but this is too much info dump with the emails. For fuck’s sake I didn’t sign up to read all this drivel. I have to read countless emails at work and for something most call an ‘escape’ this is giving me nightmares.

WHY THE FUCK DID NO ONE WARN ME ABOUT THIS?!?! at one part there is FIVE PAGES of emails. There’s still not enough liquor in my cabinet for this shit.

PS: The age of consent in Washington State is sixteen. Think on that when reflecting on Christian starting out his ‘hobby’ at fifteen.

2 responses

  1. James: Research real areas I use in my books? PISH TOSH!! I’m BRITISH! I’ll make up whatever I want! *throws Washington State guide into the fire*. I have 16 pages of e-mails to write for this one chapter between Ana and McEmo, I mean, McPerfect Man for Everyone. She hasn’t talked to her inner goddess and subconscious yet. I need to fix that.

    • It’s true! She actually said guilty conscience and I got hopeful but then …nooope the subconscious rode in on a pony. I haven’t been able to make notes because the person at work at finds me doing this offensive so my notes aren’t there. Now I think 200 pages could have been culled.

Comments are closed.