Chapter Breakdown: Chapter Sixteen #50shades

Before reading this post, I suggest you read my disclaimer of sorts first. I really mean it this time and in case you didn’t bother, I’ll again highlight a certain tweet.

ELJames DERP

If you’re wondering, this tweet has magically disappeared. Probably not after the person noted as “ignorant” was harassed by her fans.

You’ve got to be fucking kidding me at this point. Guess what? The sex in the previous chapter is considered rape by Washington State law. Why?

RCW 9A.44.050

Rape in the second degree.
(1) A person is guilty of rape in the second degree when, under circumstances not constituting rape in the first degree, the person engages in sexual intercourse with another person:
(a) By forcible compulsion;
(b) When the victim is incapable of consent by reason of being physically helpless or mentally incapacitated;

There’s more but the bolded part is the important part because:

Mental incapacity is that condition existing at the time of the offense which prevents a person from understanding the nature or consequences of the act of sexual intercourse whether that condition is produced by illness, defect, the influence of a substance or from some other cause.

Influence of a substance. That substance? Alcohol. Christian admits that he kept filling her cup because she “overthinks everything” and “won’t communicate honestly”. She’s drunk, thus not in any capacity to make a rational decision.

When Christian says vino veritas, in wine there is truth. What it should really be is vino raptio, in wine there is rape. Or champagne in this case. So we’re right back to the creeptard preying on the headcase. And, because I don’t think I’ve said this enough, fuck you to anyone who uses the argument that it’s fiction.

Fifty shades of fucked up indeed. Renate Lijerka did a great post to explain consent, I highly recommend reading it.

No matter what he’s been through in his life–over twenty years ago–it doesn’t excuse his behavior. If he had it so rough, why did his adoptive family get him help? There comes a point in someone’s life where you have to take responsibility for your actions and not cling to the past. Yeah, and fuck you on it being fiction–again.

I’m full out enraged as this chapter continues. This particular exchange, for example:

[Ana]”so why are you trying to change me?”

[Christian]”I don’t want to change you. I’d like you to be courteous and to follow the set of rules I’ve given you and not defy me. Simple.”

HOW IS THAT NOT CHANGING HER?!?!? FUUUUUCK YOU!

Happy finger

