Chapter Breakdown: Chapter Twelve #50shades

Before reading this post, I suggest you read my disclaimer of sorts first.

And we have our word of the day:

en·er·vat·ing
/ˈenərˌvādiNG/
adjective
causing one to feel drained of energy or vitality.
Example: “the enervating humidity of the coast”

How it’s used in FSoG:

I need to expend some of this excess, enervating energy.

Paging Inigo Montoya!

Yeah. I’ve also noticed thus far that the characters can cock their head but not give head to a cock. I’ll let you know if the word ‘cock’ is used in the ‘traditional’ sense for an erotic book. Or pussy for that matter.

I do, however, want to bring to light something that’s been posted on the internet and in reading that passage, I feel that it’s been taken out of context.

If you struggle, I’ll tie your feet, too. If you make a noise, Anastasia, I will gag you. Keep quiet. Katherine is probably outside listening right now.”

I’ve underlined the part that I’ve seen passed around like a two dollar whore on the internet. One, when I read the rest of it, I don’t find the first part so alarming. Had the verbage only been the first part, then I would be in the line with a pitchfork ready to strike down Sir el Douche. Really, an excited child like Ana needs to be told to shut the fuck up, especially since the non-disclosure says she can’t talk about their relationship. She’s treading into territory she’s read up on, is appalled by, but still eggs on a person. While abuse is abuse, you don’t send obvious mixed signals.

Paradise LostQuite frankly , I was enjoying this chapter. The whole dynamic of him showing up and not caring about her state wasn’t too creepy. Kate let him in, he didn’t break in or crawl through a window to watch her sleep. She could have said no but implored him for more. As much as I was enjoying this one, something yanked me out of the scene fast and furious.

Her hearing him smile. This is the second time this has happened. Once on the phone and now while she’s blindfolded. Again, this wouldn’t have been alarming if he spoke then I would be that it was an inflection in his tone. Additionally, the T-shirt she’s wearing is used as a blindfold yet she ‘sees’ him reaching to remove it.

When you deprive a character of one of the senses it’s a beautiful opportunity to make the other ones pop. Touch (she’s tied but he’s touching her skin), smell, hearing, or taste. None of this is done. When I reflect back on it, much of the story is what we call ‘telling’ instead of ‘showing’. The spelling out of the emails and contracts are prime examples also. It’s writing 101. Along with over using words but I’ve discussed that before about the lack of real editing. Much like the subconscious faux pas that rears its ugly head again. Along with being able to tell someone has had sex because of the state of their hair. Riiight.

Ana’s on the edge, in the post euphoria of coital activities. Nothing in this chapter isn’t something she didn’t manipulate in some way. It’s like playing with matches and thinking nothing bad will happen. He doesn’t like to be touched and she so very much wants to do that. The forbidden fruit aspect. There’s also the level of insecurity she has that won’t leave her alone, along with her multiple personality.

Remember, herpes can jump the condom. 😉

 

 

