Chapter Breakdown: Chapter Six #50shades

 

Before reading this post, I suggest you read my disclaimer of sorts first.

So …yeah. Let the craziness begin. Cat in a former life Kate is back with her ADD squirrel schtick. First she’s all like Ana can’t trust Grey Mysterio only to switch up and want to deck Ana out for her date-not-date with the stalker. I swear she’d fatten her up so Buffalo Bill from Silence of the Lambs could have a nice chest piece.

I honestly didn’t look up anything on helicopters beyond how low they have to fly etc because, honestly, the fact checking is getting exhausting and I’m only on chapter six. The fact that I’ve found some already just goes back to the point of greedy 5/6 publishers. Sorry the small publishers are giving you a run for your money–NOT!

So we have the warning signs going off like fireworks at this point but Miss Dumb in a Box is oblivious. I get the wanting something you think you can’t have and the tween crush syndrome but wake up, girlfriend! I might as well be shouting at a wall in a tornado. Seriously, I hate dumb female characters.

So, even though she believes him to be arrogant and a stalker, she’s now alone in his house. Better yet, let’s sign a disclosure contract without reading it. One that says she can’t speak of their relationship. Oh but it’s okay because he’s soooo dreamy and she’s totally tossing her virginity to him.

This sequence just proves to me that Ana really doesn’t get it and why anyone would say what she says is beyond me.

“…I could hold you to some impossibly high ideal like Angel Clare or debase you completely like Alec d’Urberville,” he murmurs, and his eyes flash dark and dangerous.

“If there are only two choices, I’ll take the debasement.” I whisper, gazing at him.

DAFUQ?! Plus, even if you want to talk BDSM, that’s not what the whole relationship dynamic entails and to reference the Spanish Inquisition?

Do Your Research

Fun fact: The Spanish Inquisition started in the 15th century and spanned into the 19th century.- The torture employed was the same as the European tribunals used more with more vigor. The three most common methods were as follows:

Garrucha: This consists of suspending the accused by the wrists that are tied behind the back. Weights were often tied to the ankles as well. The legs and arms suffered violent pulls that often dislocated the joints.

Toca: This one involves stuffing a cloth in the mouth of the accused and pouring water through it to simulate drowning. Basically a form of waterboarding.

Potro: This is the lovely rack. Stretching limbs until they pop.

Yeah totally what BDSM is. /sarcasm.

4 responses

  1. This is why I have no interest in reading these books and twitch when someone says how great they were. I’d buy a paperback just to be able to set it on fire and yell at it but I have other books that I’d rather spend my money on and read.

    I can see why the BDSM community would not be happy with her because she’s giving bad information to housewives who want to spice up their sex lives.

    • The whole dynamic is wrong. The dom and sub have an equal relationship. I don’t know if any of my BDSM friends had contracts so maybe they could chime in. Regardless, their doms do not debase them. It’s a mutual want and they would never use that word to describe their relationship.

  2. Aside from the fact that they equate domestic violence with romance, the biggest issue I’ve heard about these books comes from the BDSM community’s outright loathing for its false representation of BDSM. You can learn more in a brief Google search about BDSM and the relationship between a dom x sub than is in those books. I know cause I’ve done it before I inquired with actual doms and subs, and asked questions. Of course, all the people that defend these awful books excuse it as “it’s only fiction” and “you can make up whatever when writing” so that equates to the BDSM community is overreacting unnecessarily. I’ve seen people suggest that actually. It’s sad.

    • Fiction or not, research needs to be completed. I’ve put feelers out to friends of mine that I know have experience with a true BDSM relationship for an interview. Hopefully they agree. Fiction or not, too many people think this shit is real and making a bad light on someone’s lifestyle is bad form.

Comments are closed.