Social Media: I Don’t Get It

The balance between over saturation and obscurity. I’m not sure where the line begins or ends, really. My blog, for instance, usually has a guest post/book promo on Fridays. On Wednesdays, I attempt to have something remotely original. Of course I don’t always hold fast to that rule. My true balancing act is keeping something going here and working on my latest project while working my bread winner 9 to 5 job.

wpid-20140517_210903.jpgI’ve followed blogs that post everyday.Thousands of words and huge lists I have trouble focusing on and ultimately, it loses my interest. The sad part is the content is great. On the other hand, I follow a blog that posts nearly everyday but limits the post–except for the occasional guest spot–to around 250 words, 500 at the most. That’s about a page worth of text. It makes for a light read and engaging conversation. I try to do this concept but admit that sometimes I, too, go over.

Don’t get me wrong–I’ve read 100k books in record time. However, I always switch to a book of short stories or a novella afterwards. It’s a snack between seven course meals so to speak.

Being a writer also means I have to promote my books. Sure my publisher does some of the leg work but ultimately I’m the one that needs to push my latest novel. What’s the balance? On Facebook, I have a rule of trying to do one post a day. This blog is attached to it so that’s at least two a weeks taken care of. Still, I can fall short and I love to engage.

But what about Facebook groups or other social media such as Twitter, messageboards, Pinterest, and the like? I’ve seen select groups have the same author pummel a group with post after post about their latest and greatest. Personally, it turns me off. I read a post a while back that nailed a lot of do and do not’s of Facebook.

I won’t even get into how I was ‘duped’ into joining Pinterest.

I have several drafts, this a former one, of topics I wanted to write about. I hope to do that soon. My main focus, however, will be on some unfinished manuscripts. Resolutions  aren’t my thing. It’s like drawing a line and laughing at it as I walk away.

One thing, though this whole social media is daunting for an introvert like me, I will make sure I answer anyone who converses with me. I don’t ever want to forget that.

That’s for reading my gibberish. 🙂

 

4 responses

  1. I used to post every day to my blog. Now it’s whenever, which ‘they’ (the social media gurus) says is just as bad. We’re supposed to have regular posts so people know what to expect. Me? I’m not a regular person. I don’t keep regular schedules except to go to work and that’s because I have to. I’m more of a fly by the seat of my pants kind of girl.

    I’m with you. I hate those posts on FB and Twitter that are always “buy my book”. I want to engage with people. Let me get to know you. Unless you’re a NY Times Best-Seller, we need to appeal to people, and to do that, we need to be people. Normal people who connect with others on a personal level.

    I think you’re doing great. Do what you’re comfortable with, not what the ‘rulers’ dictate. Be genuine. Be true to yourself. It’ll shine through, but then, you already know that. 🙂

  2. I’ve followed (and unfollowed) people on Twitter who post links to their book hourly. It’s gotten to the point that when I check Twitter, I immediately gloss over any tweet with a link in it. I try to buy books by authors I follow but only if I’ve also engaged with them as well. Social media should be about engagement that works for YOU and your readers, not spamming them or using a method that someone offers up as a rule.

    • I agree. Sure I like to pimp my latest but engaging is what interests me. I want to learn from the writers who do it professionally. That’s what they’re teaching me.

Comments are closed.