Portals: Fantasy Anthology Part 2 of 2

 

Welcome to the Portals Blog Tour. I’ve asked each author to answer the following question:

Did you use real world elements or was your world completely plucked from your imagination?

I’m huge on world building in fantasy/sci-fi so the question was a no brainer. Let’s see how they faired.

 

Anna Simpson, author of Mexmur, the Huntress:

Even if you ask a reader to suspend belief, I think they still need to relate to the world where the story plays out. With this in mind, either side of my portal, are similar to Earth’s and also touched on the fairy tale kingdoms most of us know. I basically made a wheel on an imaginary map with the portal in the hub and the kingdoms of Sleeping Beauty, Rapunzel, Snow White, Cinderella, etc. All of them had some sprinkle of magic and depended on the magical source of the portal. I hoped it would help the reader believe in magic, dragons and heroes.

The space round where the portal stands is clearly marked with white stones because it isn’t easily seen. I used the mist floating behind the gates to help me figure out what was on the other side. It would be damp, and light would have trouble reaching the ground. Trees with very large leaves as high as the canopies of the South American rainforests and the ground down below soft with dampness where in the dimness spindly plants try to grow.

 

Christy Thomas, author of Maronda’s Quest:

I used both elements. I wrote the story using only my imagination, but when I began to revise, I struggled with describing parts of the setting. With help from a Medieval Faire that came to town and Google, I used some of what I saw and read to help with descriptions.

 

Laurie Treacy, author of Ordinary World:

I used a combination of real world elements for the setting, some psychology and added paranormal and fantastical items like a grimoire which I improved upon with my own ideas.

 

 No matter what world you call home, or what your station in life, there are just some paths that weren’t meant to be tread.

 

Genre: Fantasy Anthology (mixed sub genres) Publisher: Roane Publishing

Release Date: June 5, 2014

Maronda’s Quest by Christy Thomas

Mexmur, the Huntress by Anna Simpson

Entrance of Lost Souls by Echo Shea

Where Once were Hearts by Havva Murat

Ordinary World by Laurie Treacy

The Lunatic Queen by Michael Siciliano

 

Add it to your Goodreads TBR Pile  

How About a little giveaway?

$10 Amazon Gift Card & paperback copy of Portals

 

Just follow the Rafflecopter link for your chance!

 

Purchase Links:

PRINT: Roane Publishing | Createspace | Amazon

DIGITAL: Roane Publishing | Amazon | Amazon (UK) | Smashwords | Bookstrand

3 responses

Comments are closed.