The Writing Process: What Is The Secret?

My Writing Process

This particular blog hop is all about authors offering others a glimpse into their work, their work schedules, and perhaps their innermost thoughts. Some of us are quite opposite our real life personas. So who subjected you to this arduous journey through the innermost working of my mind? Aubrey Wynne roped me in and tied me down for a little Q&A.  She’s written a sweet holiday romance that’s very sigh worthy. Worth checking out

Aubrey

Click here to find out how she does it!  

Q. What am I working on?I have several projects going, actually, because I bounce around like a squirrel in a room full of nuts. One of my projects is a trilogy of naughty fairy tales set in a fictional town of Beowulf Hollow. The first one happens in the ’60’s and then I progress in each decade with the original characters of the first one making cameo appearances. I’ve planned them out as far as what fairy tale I’ve based them loosely on and that’s about it.

Q. How does my work differ from others of its genre? While intimacy is a big part of the erotic/romance genre, I like to make sure that it’s just not about two people getting it on and certainly not insta-love. I’m big on building the world around them. In the case of the naughty fairy tales, I plan to completely twist them so that–while the original story can be plucked from it–the story will be a polar opposite. For example, the first one is based on Hansel and Gretel but the witch isn’t their main enemy. I’ve planned something more sinister for the town of Beowulf Hollow. It’s going to be heavy on the Urban Fantasy side.

Q. Why do I write what I do? First and foremost, I love the story. My favorite things to write are historical and fantasy, mostly because they parallel themselves. With historicals, I get to do massive research so that I get the details right. It’s very important to have the elements of whatever time period I chose down. Conversely, I’ve used that research and injected it into my fantasy pieces. In The Forest Maiden, I used what I found on 18th century clothing. Just one piece of history could be a wealth of information.

TFM

Q. How does your writing process work? I’m a ‘traditional’ pantster. It’s one of the reasons I have several things going at once. Outlines aren’t my thing but I do jot down notes of how the story flow will go. Key elements to guide me through. The beginning, middle, and end. Those are the key components of the story. I’ve been know to have a facepalm moment when it comes to the cover art sheets I get when I get an acceptance. I’m not very good at writing down what my characters look like. Oops. I think that comes from my own reading skills. I like the character to form in my head and not be force feed. Unfortunately, I’m odd when it comes to that.

Q. Who will we meet next week? How about Leona Bushman? She’s got an action-packed urban fantasy romance full of things that go bump in the night.

 

One response

  1. What a great post. You had me at Fairy Tales but to add a little naughtiness. Oh, yeah! As a historical romance lover, I am now adding to my TBR list after reading this. Thanks for participating.

Comments are closed.