The Deal with January 1st

Squirrel Watching

My girls squirrel watching. I had to take the youngest out there as she had no idea of this glorious past time in the sun room. She’ll learn. 😉

Look, okay, I get it. A lot of people love making those little resolutions. I applaud the attempt of many to not only announce them but to sally forth on the journey to complete them. I suspect most fail. So why do it?

It’s basic human nature. Like the changing of the guard in the year’s number turns the soil for us to grow our dreams anew. Lord knows I’ve tried them. For the most part, I succeed. Then life gets hectic and I lose myself in the forest of the past. Will it happen again this year? Possibly. Still, I’m plotting my course.

Firstly, I have a series of naughty fairytales I mapped out. They’re going to span the decades starting with the sixties. The main characters from the first one will be a subplot throughout them all. To keep with the mythical aspect of the stories in general, I’ve made a fictional town for them all to live in. It should be quite fun. I plan on twisting the original fairytales. They will, of course, be urban fantasy unlike the pure fantasy of the last two. My plan is to write one a month and then edit them on  the fourth. All three will be submitted at once and (hopefully) spaced out in release.

So, basically my hope this year is to write more. I tapered off a bit at the end of the year but its to be expected. My 9 to 5 job gets busy, I do a NaNo frenzy, and take off in December. Will I write full time someday? Perhaps. It’s been a long road for me. Writing is not an overnight thing and never will be. We must all persevere.

Also, it’s time to be better to myself. I got off my kick of making healthy options for lunch and while I didn’t necessarily eat junk, I didn’t do my body the service it deserves. Once you change your diet, even the slightly misstep from the path yields painful results. I will lose one more size this year. After all, I maintained my weight and that’s a good thing.

Funny thing, BTW. I got denied optional group life insurance at work because of my height weight ratio. This isn’t the reason I want to lose a size. Notice I said size. It’s not the scale that should matter but the cut of your jeans. I’ll never be in the threshold of those silly charts. Not only am I big-boned, I gain muscle very easy. It’s my genetics and those charts never allow for that so screw the insurance companies. I suppose if I was anorexic they’d snatch me up but once again the definition of ‘fat’ in this society prevails. Please disregard my healthy heart, lack of diabetes, bad cholesterol, high pressure. My obese nature predestines my early demise. Tell that to my aunt who lived over hundred years or my grandmother who lived to 91–surviving lung cancer and two strokes. We’re a stubborn bunch of Irish-Italian-Dutch-English-German bastards.

So in this new year there’s only one thing to do–be good to yourself. Have ice cream if you want in moderation. Just make sure it’s not full of artificial crap like the rest of your food. Be good to others and don’t let the cancer in your life deaden your soul.

Oh yeah…. Blessed Happy New Year … and stuff. 😉

