But Why?

I just got the word from Breathless Press–Muir Bhreatan, my romantic pirate story–has been offered a contract. I accepted, of course. Here’s the premise of the story:

Liberators of gold from the British on the high seas, Aedan ó Loinsigh and his brother have never shied away from a challenge on the open waters. Aedan’s only tie to solid ground is the lovely Kaitlin who possesses him like no other. When the brothers are captured and awaiting execution, a mysterious man offers to free them if they pay off their debt aboard his ship. The brothers waste no time in agreeing to the proposal only to find their new lives are not much better than those of slaves. Desperate to reach Kaitlin again, Aedan must figure out a way to save not only the other indentured servants aboard the ship but get back to his true love. Salvation could come at a price. One that Aedan will have to live with for the rest of his life.

Unknown IslandsHere’s the kicker. Since this is a romantic story vice an erotic one, I’ve decided to use the pen name of K. E. Shade. Why? I don’t know about you but when I pick up something from a known erotic author, I expect some graphic, sometimes kinky, sex scenes. So steamy it melts my panties off and makes me want to go to the doctor for an STD check. While romantic has the elements like that, its more subdued. Generally, harsh words like ‘cock’ or ‘pussy’ aren’t used. Generally.

So, I wanted to make it clear to any readers out there that scenes like, let’s say, The Wolves of Argonne, won’t be a feature in this book. Make no mistake, it has a good romantic tone. One man’s journey to get back to the woman he loves, at a cost of course.

What do you think of an author using more than one pen name? There are some famous ones out there that have done it, like Stephen King. Good or bad choice?

4 responses

  1. I think more than one is solid. I know there are authors out there who do it to differentiate. Robert Jordan(think this is who it was) wrote a romance novel under a pen name for example. Nobody would be confusing it for his fantasy series to be sure. Of course, how the book got to be considered a romance novel I’ll never understand, but that’s a story for another time.

    • I read about up to part way into book six of the Wheel of Time series. He had almost romance in those. I say almost because I thought it was more of infatuation with Rand than what a true romantic element would show.

      For a fantasy writer to toss out something considered “true romance” I think it would benefit them to use another name. While I’m not one of them, some people prefer strictly romance so fantasy with a touch of romance wouldn’t cut it. My opinion, of course.

  2. I use another pen name for a series of erotica short stories. It’s partly because I’m experimenting and don’t want my own name on them if they fail miserably, and another because I want another layer of protection between the stories and my day job.

Comments are closed.