Foot in Mouth Disease

It’s been interesting lately, to say the least. I don’t normally get drawn into a debate on what I write but something struck a chord with me and I feel I need to speak out. Don’t worry, my next Nine Circles of Hell post will follow next week I promise. Some things have come up and I have to put it out there.

It first came to my attention through the writing site and FB author page I belong to. Unfortunately, the site that had the article took it down. However, as often happens on the internet, the golden nugget was saved in the form of a review on Goodreads. Read that here. No, seriously. Read it…all of it if you have a whole day.

It’s baffling, really.

Here I am writing erotic romance because I want to, not because it’s a niche market. Have I made more money on it than my other side of the house? Oh hell yeah. Am I going to forget about my sci-fi, fantasy, paranormal horror, etc and stick to the money maker? Hell no. I love to write and I won’t write anything to ‘sell out’. Besides, as I’ve stated before, I’m not writing to make a vat of cash. It’s a passion I enjoy and I don’t compromise unless I want to do it. Otherwise, I walk away.

Just when you think it doesn’t get any deeper into the mire, the originator of the offending post, one Kendall Grey, writes this post on her blog. In case this one disappears, I’m going to put a little bit of her own words:

Kendall Grey:

There are two sides to every story. I feel strongly that many of the facts surrounding this particular story have been blurred, obscured, and in some cases, twisted into flat-out lies. I encourage you always to seek out both sides before you decide which “truth” you believe. The world has enough bullies. Even if you still think I’m wrong, please don’t be one of them. Share your opinion, but be better than that. Bullies demean the entire human race.

Bravo! I agree…Bullies suck but…wait a minute….

So it’s okay to go after someone, say, bully even if you do it anonymously? Pot kettle black anyone? For me it’s not about ‘attacking’ someone’s reputation. On the internet, no matter how many smilies you slather in thick syrupy melted gummy bears, it’s really hard to know if someone’s kidding. When it comes to your audience–and other people writing the genre–it’s best not to gobble up some ‘sole’ food. If you didn’t mean it in the context of which it was taken, how about you try a dish of humble pie and say that instead of getting passive-aggressive. “It’s not my fault you took it wrong” doesn’t really cut it in today’s society.

Remember, a bully is “A person who uses strength or power to harm or intimidate those who are weaker.” Perhaps there is no right or wrong in this whole picture. However, I don’t think calling someone out on bullshit is bullying either. Asking your posse to attack, though, parallels on a mob mentality. So be careful on what you say, be careful on the internet. And for goodness sakes, have a little respect for people who enjoy reading and writing erotica.

Oh, by the way, I have a book coming out through a publisher that I started writing in 2009. It’s a paranormal YA. Yeah, it took me that long to have it completed and shiney enough. I persevered through it all and didn’t give in. That’s what it takes. Oh and I didn’t write it because it was the ‘in’ thing to do. It’s where the story led me.

When it comes down to it, sarcasm isn’t a bad thing, Lord knows I love sarcasm, but it’s got to be used correctly. Yes, sarcasm is an art and coming across constantly as a sarcastic asshole just makes people drop the ‘sarcastic’ in that title. Tact is a wonderful thing and should be employed. Not that I haven’t ever opened my mouth wide for a good Nike sammich. I, least, stand by what I write and not waffle if the kitchen gets too hot.

Addendum:

It seems an apology was made, though it had to be asked for. *sigh* Read it here, if you want but it starts out with this lovely line “If you and the many others who are angry with me need an apology, here it is. Thank you for being the first person to have the balls to directly ask me for one.”

Why thank you, your majesty. *insert sarcastic eye roll here*

One other note before I end this rather lengthy post. I’m not saying it’s okay to bash anyone. Name calling and ad hominem attacks are NOT okay. Voice your displeasure in a clear and concise way without wildly swinging the cunt hammer. The words already written speak volumes.

