Six Sentence Sunday-Anubis Arises

Another week filled with rejections, acceptances, edits, and a request to tone down an erotic piece. So once again, the only blog post I have to offer is Six Sentence Sunday. You’ll all forgive me, right?

I wasn’t sure what to pick this week. I have tons of choices between what’s in the queue to be published and the gaggle of unfinished and finished works on my computer. This week I’ve decided to put a little snipet of Anubis Arises. It’s unfinished, sort of. Standing at around 18k words, I believe it to be complete in my eye. Enter the comments I received when it went through a critiquing site I no longer use. Nothing against the site, I got wonderful feedback and seemed to help those I critiqued as well. The issue? It’s all done through email and it become cumbersome to properly crit in my opinion. I did, however, save the mails with the suggestions on expanding the piece. It won’t go past novella size. In any account, they all seem to suggest I could expand on some points so I will…in due time.

Anubis Arises is about a young girl who runs away from the desert community she’s lived her whole life when the love of her life doesn’t come back from a mission her father sent him on. Her people guard an artifact of Anubis from a Brotherhood that would seek to have it for their own. Basically I took Greek and Egyptian mythos and pitted them against each other. On her quest to find her love, she’s captured by The Brotherhood.

Forgive me for the vague terms, my thumbstick isn’t cooperating. I never made any official coverart for this project either. Nonetheless, I hope you enjoy the six sentences I picked. I’d also ask Aimee Laine to look past the adverbs used. It’s an old piece. :p

There was the voice again, taut and agitated this time. The cold almost slimy hands roughly subdued my frantic convulsing and a chilling frost swabbed against my arm. Terrified, I renewed my struggle and my body happily responded this time. A guttural ‘no’ came out of my parched throat and my eyes finally focused. The pinpoints of light I had seen earlier were dozens of headlamps along the ceiling. As I turned to the man I had heard earlier, he blotted out the lights like an eclipse and darkened his features but I saw him.

4 responses

Comments are closed.