Hitting the Mark

I was going to do a post, once I realized how long it had been, on how I designed my book art depicted on the blog but something better came along.

Another success has landed in my lap. Pulp Empire has taken the booty! Yarrr! The work formerly known as Buckle Me Swash has been accepted to be put into their Pirates & Swashbucklers Anthology. I renamed it The Mark of the Brotherhood. Sorry to disappoint those who loved the original. I’m thinking about doing a parody swashbuckling story with the old title.

I love a good parody.

Back to the original intent of this post. When I started my journey to get published, I really didn’t know what life had in store for me. I knew I was prepared for any rejection letters that came my way. I got them before and in hindsight, I can see I didn’t deserve publication back then. Saying that doesn’t take the bitter taste out of my mouth that the words on the submission form of “we’re into launching new artists” meant nothing considering I’d never seen this magical ambrosia being employed by the certain company.

That’s not important to my life now. I reached for the sun and got burned.

Lesson learned.

Time to play with the clouds for inspiration and hone my craft. It needed it, looking back at the travesties I’ve created.

Having a writing group helped that and when that kind of faded into the sunset, a new group of cowboys came to the ranch. All is well in the world.

I haven’t heard anything on the Oceans Anthology yet but they’re hard at work trying to catch up with the loads of submissions they received. So instead of waiting around, the Sisterhood of the Traveling Pens pointed me in the direction of Electrik Milk Bath Press looking for art submissions.

When I had decided that writing would be my course, I gave up on my artwork. Sure I dabbled here and there but I didn’t give it its due. J.A. Belfield changed that for me when she asked me to design her book cover.

Thank you for that because now I’m giving both of my loves their due.

I opened one of the paint programs I never used and played around with it. First I took some images of my gorgeous cherry tree in my front yard, the concrete bench, and my sidewalk laden with falling blossoms from said cherry tree. I watercolored the image, warped it, and recolored it in places using the programs I knew. Then I knocked myself dizzy playing with the newer program.

Here is the end result:

I like the paint program I used. The only downside is you can’t layer anything. One layer to work with, that’s it. This forces me to go old school, just like when I worked on canvas. I think I like that and might have to experiment more when I create another cover for the most excellent J.A. Belfield.

On the writing front, I’ve created two new pieces:

The Case of Mr. Wolfe. A twist on Little Red Riding Hood told like an old Sam Spade story. It’s for a contest on Scribophile but once it’s complete, I’m shopping it out.

Head Story. I have no title for this one beyond the working title. This, too, was for a contest. I made it a bit of a paranormal horror flick set in Central America complete with a shrunken head and voodoo medicine man. When the contest is complete for this, I think I might expand it a bit. 2k words just doesn’t do it justice.

That’s it on my front.

So what are all my peeps up to?

7 responses

  1. Ha! I’m ‘most excellent’. 🙂 I looked at this artwork the other day, but it didn’t show up quite this big for me, then. I loved it in a smaller size, but the bigger version is even better. I absolutely adore the colours you have going on. But then you know I’m fond of your artwork, anyway. Congrats on Mark of the Brotherhood being placed. I really enjoyed that piece, and I agree that ‘Head Story’ would work better expanded to allow a little more of the MC’s journey and motivations.
    What am I working on? How long do you have? I just finished my (not so) short, I’m beta-reading/full editing a novel I did a novel swap for with a writer friend, I have an ARC of a novel due for release in June that I have to read, so I can post a review to my blog, I have a (not so) short story to read/critque for my writer buddy, I have critiques to catch up on, I have Ethan’s story waiting for me to return to and finish telling, my novella is now in the hands of the publisher, so I have to wait and see what they have to say about what needs changing in that … ::blowsoutbreath:: Might be more, but my brain’s starting to leak.

  2. I’m anxiously awaiting the next part in Ethan’s story. You’ve kept me hanging but I suppose the other things you’ve been doing are kind of important. 😉

  3. HA! I can comment 🙂

    All that just to tell you that I am head-down-obssessively-focused on my new novel. I’ve never written a short of any description (quite frankly they scare me.) I’m a one project kinda gal 😀

    • It’s good to stick to one thing, which is what I’m trying to do with Ghosts in the Mirror.

      I used to think I couldn’t write anything short until I tried it. It looks daunting but don’t let it intimidate you.

  4. Congrats on your acceptance. Feels good, right?

    I LOVE that artwork. I could totally see that as the cover of their poetry anthology.

    And what am I up to? You know me…fingers to the keyboard, head in the clouds, as usual. 🙂

Comments are closed.