Adam by Ted Dekker

I figured I’d try another Dekker novel after enjoying the read of the last one. Adam has many layers and, much like his other book I read, it has certain religious overtones. We follow Daniel trying to track down a serial killer known as Eve. Daniel does just about anything to find this killer, including going through a couple near death experiences to being back the memory of seeing the killer’s face. That’s the skinny of it.

While I thought the flow of the book mirrored the logical thinking of Daniel, I found the over explaining a little much. Don’t get me wrong, I love it when an author does his research and doesn’t bullshit me. It just seems to be more information than necessary to get the point across. Daniel, as a character, seems obsessive-compulsive on some levels. Through the course of the book you see him go through several emotional levels. The separation from his wife, Heather, I didn’t understand. It’s like he just gave up on that part of his life.

Strewn through the novel is an article of the history of a kidnapping and the life of two children- Alex and Jessica. Now, this gives away a little of who Eve is about halfway through the book. In fact, I figured out who Jessica was fairly easy also. I can’t say whether this made the book predictable or not. I will say the piece wasn’t well written and didn’t seem like the typical documentary piece. It had more of a novel appeal to it and that turned me off to its legitimacy. Yeah, know. It’s in a novel and not real but if you’re going to do it, do it right.

I will say I didn’t expect the ending. That’s not saying I was surprised. Take Alex, the person following Eve’s will. He studied to be a priest yet couldn’t break out of the abuse suffered by the ones who kidnapped him and his sister. Like the evil burrowed inside him and festered. You find when Heather calls on a priest from Alex’s past, it’s a possession more than anything and Alex was the purveyor of bodies. All this women he plucked from various places in carefully laid out his plans to not get caught.

I could go on and on and say this book represents all our inner evils and obsessions in life. How we worry about the little details too much and narrow our vision for one goal, never seeing what’s sneaking up behind us until it’s too late. Not going there. Nope. Deep meanings are good but I don’t care for it to be forced feed either.

I’m not saying this book is awful. The writing is good, much like the last one. I just cringed when I could draw a few parallels between this and Boneman’s Daughters. One, in particular, was the females do not show as much emotion as the men. Okay, that one I could draw up to a man not being able to dig into the emotional complexities of a woman’s feelings. Mars vs Venus syndrome.

I found a few misspellings and missing quotes in this book so whoever the editor was needs to have their pay docked for shoddy work.

It’s not that I didn’t care for the book and perhaps my ‘meh’ feeling toward it is because it took too long to finish it. This one just didn’t grab me.

Next up: The Blind Assassin by Margaret Atwood

