Opinions Are Like…

I’ve been tormenting myself with random critiques on a certain site that shall not be named. I actually belong to a few sites to do this. All in all, it’s not a bad trade to get a fresh pair of eyes to look my stuff over for something I’m too blinded by my own brilliance to see. It’s always good to have someone to knock your fat head around once and awhile.

The issue I’m beginning to have, however, is some of the works I’m getting are, to put it bluntly, awful. I’m finding I can guess the age of the writer by the contents of their piece. No, not because they tween it out and copy horrid Stephanie Meyers monologues about dreamy stalker abusers. It’s how they think what they’ve written is a fantastic journey into the realm of wow. They skip over parts they find boring, never considering the facts might have some relevance to the reader or (gasp) the story.

Worse yet, I must be diplomatic. Normally, this isn’t a big deal for me. I’m trying to help them improve, right? Discouraging words do them no good so the wording of your response is key. Most of the queues I sent to me have been nothing more than kindle. No, not the fancy new toy from Amazon. The stuff you use to start your smorefest at camp with.

I see the author’s excitement in the words. They jump up and down, begging to get attention. It reminds me of some of my earlier works. I had grand ideas with characters just over the top. It’s a trap young writers can get mired in.

I know I’m not perfect and perhaps my snotty little attitude is a bit high on the asshole scale. I’m just in such a desperate need to read one golden nugget from this place and I haven’t seen one for at least three weeks. I’m all for the good, the bad, and the ugly. It’s the constant the bad, the ugly, and the not fit for TP I’m having an issue with.

I think I need to take a break and do something that has suffered in the past couple of months. Reading.

