BoneMan’s Daughter by Ted Dekker

I have never read anything from this author.  When I first saw the book, the back cover blurb of the story seemed interesting so I bought it.  The outrage I saw from the Christian community in the Amazon reviews also fueled the fire.  They were aghast at the content of the book.  I can’t understand why.  It’s clean cut for books of this nature and what the antagonist does in the book is more or less left up to the imagination.  So, IMO, it’s there own dirty little minds that betray them and, like good Christians, they place the blame on someone else for ‘tempting’ them to such wicked thoughts.

Get over it.

At first glance, the BoneMan reminded me of Silence of the Lambs’ Buffalo Bill in his methodology.  Clear cut in his actions and goals and just as twisted about outer beauty.  That’s all the similarities they have beyond a fixation with certain body types.  All in all I found most of the main characters developed and easy to have empathy or understanding reading this book.  You felt what they were going through and you knew the characters who needed to be taken out of the gene pool.

Now I don’t have much negative things to say about this book.  It was a fast read as the writing was above par and the storyline compelling.  Believe it or not, I had to dig to come up with a few things, with the exception of the first line item and that happened near the end of the book.

The MC, Ryan Evans a Naval Intelligence Officer, is being interrogated because they think he’s the BoneMan.  Now before this they had caught him with the DA, the man the real Bone Man had told Evans to go happy on with breaking bones in order to save his daughter.  Needless to say, he couldn’t go through with it and managed to just break an arm.  So the whole time the interrogation is going on the DA is in the room (after a brief instance in the hospital) and he’s the typical ass.  While I could see him swindling himself into the room to be there, the fact that Evans’ ex-wife (hey did I mention she’s banging the DA?) comes into the room.  WTF?  In what world would this happen?  That irked me a little.

Now on to things that weren’t so bad but I’ll mention anyway.

Dekker describes things in detail.  Some of it I wasn’t so much disinterested in, I just on some level I thought it unnecessary.  In the grand scheme of things, however, it toned me more into the characters because they would have noticed that vivid detail so in a way it was necessary.  It wasn’t over bearing by any means and didn’t slow down the pace of the novel.

Another thing was giving the killer a name right off the bat.  No, not the press-related BoneMan but his real name Alvin Finch.  In a way, it diffused the total creepiness of the character.  Sure his actions alone could make your skin crawl with his obsessive-compulsive mannerisms but, again IMO, it tends to humanize the monster a little by giving him a name.  He used Noxzema in his skin.  Eeew, gross!

The one thing I found that could have been left out of the story was connecting the BoneMan to Bethany, Ryan’s adopted daughter.  Yeah, you find out she was adopted.  Things were in place to give reasoning of why she was his next victim and I felt doing this little part didn’t heighten the intensity of the finale at all.  The ending had what it needed to be successful.

If you like a compelling story with a little bit of psychodrama with a clean edge, I recommend this book.

