The Beginnings of the Anti-Romance Novel

I had mention previously about reading a few romance novels in my time.  Most (the true romance novels that a a bit more ‘graphic’) seemed to exaggerate many things.  The men always have man meat the size of an anaconda and the women are usually virgins… or had it taken away by a four-letter word.  I went on a bender reading these things for a change of pace and while the characters were uniquely different, the basic romance novel premise remained.  Girl hates guy, guy hates girl, enter the old “I’ll never love him” before they can’t stand to be apart before some other vixen the guy boinked in the past comes along for tension…. Then happily ever after.  The women are rarely strong and the men think they’re Conan.  Still, if they’re written well I don’t roll my eyes too much.  If you’re into a good writer of romance, I suggest Connie Mason.  I might roll my eyes at the stupid shit the characters do but she can write really well and researches her locations.  A very important thing when writing.

Now, that said, I still think that sometimes an author should dare to break from the mold of the A Typical romance novel.  That is what I attempted with this.  Now, this is only the beginning and in the only 40+ single-spaced pages I have started on this (it’s a side side project), I have tried to weave a romance novel of my own in it.  How I’d like to see one written.  It’s not contained in this excerpt but this gives you an idea of what I’m going for.

………………………………………………………………………………………..

 

Okay I *had* an excerpt of my novel in progress “The Romance Novel Book Club” previous working title of “The Anti-Romance Novel”. Since anything in blogs could have “first rights” issues if I submit it to a place, I’ve removed it. Now the piece I removed looks nothing like what I had posted. Nonetheless, it’s gone. Lament or rejoice.

