Editing

I was going through some old babblings of mine.  You see, I used to be a harcore online gamer.  No, not World of Warcrack or the like.  Think pen and paper D&D but in front of a computer screen using a chat room.  At one time I was playing or DMing 3 games a week.  Unfortunately, that has gone away but not because I wanted it to.  Friends get married to a non-gamer or lose interest all together.

Playing in those games gave me the opportunity to create my babble art.  I’d save the logs from the games, go through them, and write up a sort of synopsis of what happened in my characters words.  I had a formula.  Third person for adventures and first person for gaining a level.  It helped me better both perspectives.  Reading through them, a procrastination technique to avoid finishing my NaNo editing, I saw that some things never change.  My hands and brain constantly play tricks on each other.  My brain tells the hands to type ‘he’ and they type ‘his’ or the brain thinks too fast and the hands start typing double words or misspellings that even I can’t figure out what the hell the word was supposed to be.  Factor in that my new laptop has an issue in forgetting the last ‘e’ in anything that goes like this ‘ere’.  I have to pause for that last ‘e’.  It’s a ball!

These samples of babble art will never yield me any green, however, no matter how hard I try.  Why?  Because the subject matter (as far as the setting) is a trademarked thing that Whores of the Coast owns.  I’ve thought about redoing it in a world I created but somehow the character belongs firmly planted in the world he was born in.  It suits him.  This isn’t to say any of my babble art will get published but it doesn’t stop my drive in trying.  I have, to this date, two rejection letters.  I really need to make that pile bigger.

One thing I had to learn over my years of learning and growing in babble art is to do a project and set it aside, usually a month.  Trying to re-edit right after finishing only makes it harder.  You wouldn’t think so but it does.  My NaNo project this year, for example, I let sit for a month.  Granted, it’s because December is a killer month for me and I don’t have time to write much but it needed to be done.  Instead, to keep my mind going, I switched to a side project of mine called the Anti-Romance Novel.  My goal per day was low- about 500 words.  This pales in comparison to my 3K goal during NaNo but I’m not rushing to finish 50k words in one month.  Switching keeps me going and preserves my sanity.

Back to the waiting part.  Last year’s NaNo project was called Once a Thief.  I changed the title from something that really didn’t fit the story as a whole.  In any account, this was actually the second book to a first one I had been working on since middle school.  Yeah, let’s just say that was a looooong time ago, okay?  That first book (still unfinished) I had edited to death.  Back then I didn’t own a computer, just a typewriter that had a memory capacity for so many characters.  I started noticing as I edited this thing with the ferocity of killer shark that I was changing scenes back to what I originally wrote.  The book became (and still is) a big clusterfuck of scenes.  It has a plot- beginning to end- but it’s like a ticker-tape parade along the way.  Lots of pretty but a bitch to clean up afterwards.

Do I plan on finishing it?  Absolutely!  Right along with all those other unfinished projects.  Book two is, for the most part, finished.  I just need to edit and flush out those scenes where I made quick notes and moved on.  That’s my secret to NaNo.  Not allowing one part to block my fingers from typing.  If it’s not flowing, I move on.

BTW, as I wrote and re-read this, I found those mistakes I mentioned before.  Someday my body will stop doing this to me.

